Martin Garrix


Martin Garrix – Biography

Part of the Dutch electronic music explosion in the early 2010s, Martin Garrix blends progressive house, electro, and future bass. He gained global recognition in 2013 with his multi-platinum hit “Animals” from his debut album, Gold Skies. 

Collaborating with A-list artists like Bebe Rexha, Dua Lipa, David Guetta, and Khalid, Garrix climbed the charts with crossover hits such as “In the Name of Love” and “Scared to Be Lonely.” His evolving sound led to collaborations with Macklemore, Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump, Clinton Kane, Bono, and the Edge. In 2022, he released his first full-length album, Sentio.

Born Martijn Gerard Garritsen in Amstelveen, Garrix began his career remixing Christina Aguilera’s “Your Body” at just 16. He signed with Spinnin’ Records, releasing the collaborative single “BFAM” with Julian Jordan in 2012. In 2013, his breakthrough solo single “Animals” topped charts worldwide and achieved platinum status across Europe, the U.S., and the U.K.

The following year proved successful for Garrix as well. His tracks “Wizard” featuring Jay Hardway and “Helicopter” featuring Firebeatz made their way into the Top Ten across Europe. The Gold Skies EP included chart-toppers like “Tremor” featuring Dimitri Vegas and Like Mike, and “Gold Skies” featuring Sander van Doorn and DVBBS. Garnering international acclaim, Garrix climbed to the fourth spot on DJ Magazine’s Top 100 list and collaborated with notable artists like Afrojack and Ed Sheeran.

In 2015, Garrix continued to experiment with progressive house, releasing “Forbidden Voices” and “Don’t Look Down” featuring Usher. Collaborations with artists such as Ed Sheeran, Avicii, and Tiësto followed, culminating in the Break Through the Silence EP with Matisse & Sadko. Establishing his own STMPD label in 2016, Garrix released “Now That I’ve Found You” and secured a deal with Sony Music International. By the end of the year, he claimed the top spot on DJ Mag’s list.

Following the success of “In the Name of Love,” his collaboration with Bebe Rexha, Garrix achieved further hits with “Scared to Be Lonely” featuring Dua Lipa and “So Far Away” featuring David Guetta, Jamie Scott, and Romy Dya. His Bylaw EP reached number 19 on Billboard’s Top Dance/Electronic Albums in 2018. 

The funky “Summer Days” with Macklemore and Patrick Stump, as well as other notable singles like “Home,” “Used to Love,” and “Hold On,” marked Garrix’s vibrant releases in 2019. In 2020 and 2021, he continued to deliver impressive tracks such as “Drown,” “Higher Ground,” “Pressure,” and the UEFA 2020 Euro football championship anthem “We Are the People” with U2’s Bono and the Edge. Finally, in 2022, Garrix unveiled his debut album, Sentio, after a decade of delivering successful singles, EPs, and collaborations.

Rate it