First International Reissue of Ryuichi Sakamoto’s ‘Ongaku Zukan’ Announced

todayJune 29, 2023 3

share close

First International Reissue of Ryuichi Sakamoto’s ‘Ongaku Zukan’ Announced

The highly anticipated international reissue of Ryuichi Sakamoto’s ‘Ongaku Zukan’ has been confirmed, marking the first release of the late Japanese composer’s work since his passing on March 28 earlier this year.

Scheduled for release on September 29, the reissue will be available in both vinyl and CD formats, courtesy of WeWantSounds. The entire tracklist has been meticulously remastered for this special release by Saidera Mastering in Tokyo, ensuring an enhanced listening experience for fans worldwide.

Ryuichi Sakamoto, a multi-talented artist renowned for his Oscar-winning compositions, record production, acting, and membership in the influential Yellow Magic Orchestra, explored a wide range of musical styles and left an indelible mark on electronic music genres.

Notably, Sakamoto collaborated with Alejandro González Iñárritu to create the score for the critically acclaimed and Academy Award-winning film, The Revenant.

Following his departure from the Yellow Magic Orchestra, Sakamoto’s solo releases, such as the experimental 1978 electronic fusion album ‘Thousand Knives’ and ‘Riot in Lagos’ from his ‘B-Unit’ album, released the same year, played a pivotal role in the development of electro and hip-hop.

The reissue of Sakamoto’s fourth solo album is a result of a collaboration with Midi Inc, the artist’s management company. It faithfully reproduces the original gatefold artwork and includes an additional insert featuring commentary by Andy Beta, providing valuable insights into the album’s creation.

The international reissue will mirror the Japanese release, which featured a bonus 7-inch EP containing the additional tracks ‘Replica’ and ‘Ma Mère l’Oye’.

Check out the full tracklist here:

Side 1
1. Tibetan Dance 5.02
2. Etude 5.15
3. Paradise Lost 5.26
4. Self Portrait 4.43

Side 2
5. 旅の極北 (Tabi No Kyokuhoku) 5.11
6. M.A.Y. In The Backyard 5.36
7. 羽の林で (Hane No Hayashi De) 5.40
8. 森の人 (Mori No Hito) 5.02
9. A Tribute TO N.J.P. 2.47

10. Replica 5.27
11. マ・メール・ロワ (Ma Mère l’Oye) 4.30


Written by: Artificial Intelligence Technology

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply